About the Archdiocese

The Archdiocese of Liverpool

The Archdiocese of Liverpool extends from the Mersey to the Ribble and encompasses parts of Lancashire, north Cheshire, Greater Manchester and the Isle of Man. 

It is divided into separate administrative or deaneries which are each overseen by a Dean and a sub-Dean:
  • Bootle and Litherland
  • Chorley
  • Crosby
  • Croxteth and Walton
  • Isle of Man
  • Knowsley
  • Leigh
  • Leyland
  • Liverpool North
  • Liverpool South
  • Ormskirk and Maghull
  • St Helens
  • Southport
  • Upholland
  • Warrington
  • Widnes
  • Wigan
  • Woolton and Halewood


We are Liverpool Roman Catholic Archdiocesan Trustees Incorporated, registered charity number 232709. In our day to day dealings we are known as the Archdiocese of Liverpool.


Most Rev Malcolm McMahon OP

Rev Mgr John Devine OBE
Mr Graeme Easton
Rev Canon Michael Fitzsimons
Mr Ian Hollows
Rev Philip Inch
Mr Sean Keyes
Mrs Carol Lawrence
Rev Canon Thomas Neylon
Rev Matthew Nunes
Rev Provost Anthony O'Brien
Mrs Collette O'Brien
Rt Rev Thomas Williams