Safeguarding Commission

Safeguarding Commission

Safeguarding Commission
Within each Diocese is a Safeguarding Commission, with an Independent lay chair who has extensive safeguarding experience through working with children and/or adults (e.g. social care, police, probation, family law or health).

The Safeguarding Commission is accountable to the Archbishop and Trustees of Archdiocese of Liverpool for Archdiocesan safeguarding matters.

The Commission leads on the strategic direction of safeguarding and provides independent oversight, scrutiny, advice and guidance on safeguarding related matters relating to the Archdiocese and aligned religious Orders.
For more information on the structure and roles of safeguarding in the Catholic Church, including the function and responsibilities of the Commission, please see CSAS Organisational structure and roles
Archdiocese of Liverpool Safeguarding Commission:                                
Dr Margaret Goddard          - Chairperson
Rev. John Poland                - Archbishop's Secretary & Canon Lawyer
Rev Canon Tom Neylon      - Trustee of the Archdiocese of Liverpool
Cath O'Leary                       - Archdiocesan Schools Department
Rev Aidan Kelly                   - Clergy Representative
DC Denise Malcolm             - Merseyside Police
Michelle Dean                      - National Probation Service - Merseyside
Martin Sandeman                 - Former CEO of Catholic Blind Institute 
Dominic Wilcox                     - Parish Representative
Julie Knowles                       - Alder Hey Hospital
Vacant                                  - Religious Order Representative
Rev Andrew Burns               - Religious Order Representative
Vacant                                  - Adult/Children Social Care

In attendance, but not Commission members:
Alexandra Griffiths              - Safeguarding Co-ordinator
Mark Robson                      - Assistant Safeguarding Co-ordinator
Admininstrative Support provided by the Safeguarding Department
The Safeguarding Commission will meet 5 times in 2021. Provisional dates of the meetings are:
  • Tues 16th February 2021
  • Tues 25th May 2021
  • Tues 13th July 2021
  • Tues 19th October 2021
  • Tues 14th December 2021

Members of the Commission can be contacted via the Safeguarding Department.