Former Archbishops

Past Archbishops

Archbishop Emeritus Patrick Kelly 1996–2013: Patrick Altham Kelly (Archbishop Emeritus)

Patrick Kelly was born in Morecambe, Lancashire on 23 November 1938. He attended St Mary's Primary School, Morecambe and Preston RC College before commencing studies for the priesthood in Rome in 1955. He was ordained by Cardinal William Godfrey at the English College, Rome on 18 February 1962 where he remained for postgraduate studies until 1964.

On his return to England he was appointed as Assistant Priest at St Peter's Cathedral, Lancaster where he served for two years until his appointment as a lecturer in theology on the staff of St Mary's College, Oscott, Birmingham in 1966. He became Rector of Oscott in 1979 and continued in the post until his appointment as Bishop of Salford in 1984.

He was ordained as Bishop of Salford on 3 April 1984 and was translated to Liverpool on 21 May 1996; being installed as the eighth Archbishop of Liverpool on 3 July 1996. As a member of the Bishops' Conference of England and Wales he held a number of high profile advisory roles and served on several committees. On an ecumenical level he was a former member of ARCIC (the Anglican Roman Catholic International Commission).

From November 1999 to April 2009 he served as Vice-President of the Bishops' Conference of England and Wales. He celebrated his Episcopal Silver Jubilee on 3 April 2009 and retired in February 2013.

1976 - 1996: Archbishop Derek Worlock CH
1964 - 1976: Archbishop George Andrew Beck AA
1957 - 1963: Archbishop (later Cardinal) John Carmel Heenan
1953 - 1956: Archbishop (later Cardinal) William Godfrey
1928 - 1953: Archbishop Richard Downey
1921 - 1928: Archbishop Frederick William Keating
1911 - 1921: Archbishop Thomas Whiteside
1894 - 1911: Bishop Thomas Whiteside
1873 - 1894: Bishop Bernard O'Riley
1856 - 1872: Bishop Alexander Goss
1850 - 1856: Bishop George Brown